Skip to content

History

The Centre for Deaf People in the 1970s

For those who are interested in learning more about our history and where it all began, we have provided some interesting facts in our timeline:

In 1899, the Birmingham Adult Deaf and Dumb Association was formed as a charity and within 100 years, changed to the Birmingham Institute for the Deaf and is now known as BID Services.

By the millennium, BID Services had grown with the recruitment of staff and the expansion of services. The charity had traditionally offered services that enabled independence for deaf people and began a new project that was about the celebration of deaf culture and the deaf community not only in Birmingham but across the UK.

In 2006, the centre on Ladywood Road was demolished. After a build that lasted 18 months, the new Deaf Cultural Centre was officially opened on 10th September, 2007 by HRH, The Princess Royal.

The centre houses the charity’s head office, as well as the Signing Tree Conference Centre and the Signing Tree Cafe.

The Deaf Cultural Centre is a strong supporter of deaf arts and regularly hosts a range of events showcasing deaf arts.